AAPA NY Chapter

NY Public Psychiatry

The New York Regional Chapters of the American Association of Community Psychiatrists and the American Association of Psychiatric Administrators


Providing for the effective and efficient consolidation of knowledge and new information regarding administration of mental health facilities, programs and systems by psychiatrists working within the public sector; formulating, promulgating, and maintaining qualifications and standards for all psychiatrists working within the public sector

Providing education to psychiatrists and the community regarding the relationship of administration and psychiatric care; and

Providing better understanding and professional support among psychiatrists working within the public sector by promoting collegiality, networking and consultation.

Our History

The New York Regional Chapters of the AACP and AAPA began meeting together in 2009 to more effectively promote public psychiatry in New York.

Did You Know?

Many of our members are alumni of the Columbia University Public Psychiatry Fellowship Program, initiated in 1981 with funds from the NYS Office of Mental Health.

Annual Conference

The chapter’s next annual conference will be held on Friday, April 8, 2016, from 9 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. at Roosevelt Hospital in NYC. The conference will focus on Managing Risk in the Context of Recovery-Oriented Care.

For further information about the chapter or the conference, contact Elissa Lapide, chapter president, at elissalapide@gmail.com or Jules Ranz at jmr1@columbia.edu.

Who We Are

2015-16 Executive Committee
Elissa Lapide, MD

Marc Manseau, MD

Richard Gersh, MD


Stephanie Le Melle, MD
Vanessa Bobb, MD, PhD
Mirabela Bodic, MD
Matthew Erlich, MD
Diana Samuel, MD
Ulrick Vieux, MD
Hiwot Woldu, MD
Rachel Zinns, MD
Joanna Fried, MD
Paul Rosenfield, MD
Sheku Magona, MD

Past Presidents 

Joanna Fried, MD (2014-15)
Anna Skiandos, DO (2013-14)
Paul Rosenfield, MD (2012-13)
Van Yu, MD (2011-12)
Allison Grolnick, MD (2010-11)
Jeanie Tse, MD (2009-10)
Sheku Magona, MD (2008-09)
Osman Ali, MD (2007-08)
AACP Area II Representative
Pablo Sadler, MD

Director, Columbia University Public Psychiatry Fellowship Program
Jules Ranz, MD

Co-Director, Columbia University Public Psychiatry Education

Stephanie Le Melle, MD